Dear Oscar…

SONY DSC

It’s ten years to the day that my first son Oscar was born, he didn’t live, but I thought I’d mark the occasion by thanking him. I’d like to thank him for giving me an appreciation of the life that I’ve got and giving me a reason to get out as much as possible to do the things that make me feel better. I think of him all the time, during every run, every ride and every time I lay in a tent in the middle of nowhere.

So thanks Oscar, your brief life made such a big difference. You taught me that life is all too short and far too precious to be spent doing anything that doesn’t make you feel alive.

I’ll spend today enjoying life, nursing battered legs from last nights fell race in Hathersage, I’ll eat good food and see good friends, I’ll visit the rowan tree we planted for you and then I’ll ride out somewhere till it gets dark and spend the night sleeping on a hill.

SONY DSC

11 thoughts on “Dear Oscar…

  1. Oh my goodness, what a beautiful post and inspiration. Stopped me in my tracks today. Best wishes to you.

  2. That is a sad but beautiful post. Makes one stop and think about what is important and the fragility of it all.
    Thank you

  3. That is a sad but beautiful post. Makes one stop and think what is important and the fragility of it all.
    Thank you

  4. Thank you for sharing that.

    I also like the idea of escaping to a hilltop bivvy, in the middle of the working week. It almost feels like cheating

    It happened to me, too. I sometimes think, on my long distance walks, how much I would like to share the experience with my daughter, Iona. This is the first time I have written anything like this in 22 years.

    Thank you, again.

    Norrie
    .

Leave a Reply

