All White on the Whyte

With the UK sitting under a generous helping of snow, I took the opportunity to steal away for a few hours on Sunday and head out into the frozen monochrome hinterland of North Notts on my Whyte 901 to find some fresh unspoilt deep snow drifts to ride through. A less successful venture earlier in the week had led me down to Woodborough and resulted in some rather ungraceful sliding and slipping about, spinning my back wheel through some slushy fields and having to get off and push. Unrepentant, I headed for firmer ground amongst the trees and carved a hefty loop heading north out of Nottingham incorporating tracks and trails that passed through Bestwood, Papplewick, Newstead Abbey, Blidworth Woods and Calverton, all in all about 4 hours riding through wintry woodland singletrack and bridleways. Fingers and toes lost and regained feeling and there was a satisfying crumpling crunching sound of tyres moving over fresh snow, aside from a few dog walkers there was nobody out. Less satisfying was riding up to the cafe where I’d hoped to get a good cup of coffee and seeing a hand written note that said that it was closed due to bad weather. Comfort was found in a petrol station near Ravenshead where £2 saw me right for Monster Munch, a slice of coffee cake and some weird chewy bars.behind redhill1 IMG_2502 IMG_2503 IMG_2504 IMG_2515 IMG_2523 IMG_2525 IMG_2531 IMG_2533 IMG_2537 IMG_2539 IMG_2544 IMG_2484

IMG_2478

5 thoughts on “All White on the Whyte

    1. Indeed, we only get about three days of snow in nottingham each year so it was fun to see familiar places wearing a wintry coat. I’ve come off my bike three times in the last month though, should probably try and learn some sort of lesson there 🙂

      1. I did see a couple of your tumbles mentioned on Twitter! I stopped cycling to work in the snow, so should be on it again tomorrow for what seems like the first time in ages.
        Have a good time next weekend by the way – Geoff’s actually going up to Scotland aswell on Friday for a week, with his doggy. Not as far north as you lot though, just to the Borders again.
        Enjoy!

  1. Since I have been to the gym this week and also ridden my bike to work twice I can feel as though I am one with you. Keep yourself sustained on the MM; I look forward to more recounts soon.
    The bike looks good Rich, although can I request a few more artistic shots of yourself on your next adventure?

Leave a Reply

